the 6th June, 1891. There have been five Premiers—Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Hon. Alexander Mackenzie, Hon. Sir John Abbott, Rt. Hon. Sir John Thompson and Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell.

56. The following are the names of members from time to time composing the Ministries, with the dates of their appointments:—

## LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE SEVERAL MINISTRIES SINCE CONFEDERATION.

## FIRST MINISTRY.

Office.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
Premier	Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, K.C.B Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, K.C.B	
Minister of Finance	Hon. Sir A. T. Galt. "Sir John Rose. "Sir Francis Hincks. "Sir S. L. Tilley.	Nov. 30, 1867 Oct. 9, 1869
Minister of Public Works	Hon. Wm. McDougall	
Minister of Militia and Defence	Hon. Sir George E. Cartier	July 1, 1867 1, 1873
Minister of Customs	Hon. Sir S. L. Tilley "Sir Charles Tupper	
Minister of Agriculture	Hon. J. C. Chapais  " C. Dunkin  " J. H. Pope	Nov. 16, 1869
Postmaster General	Hon. Sir A. Campbell. "John O'Connor.	July 1, 1867 1, 1873
Minister of Marine and Fisheries	Hon. Peter Mitchell	July 1, 1867
Minister of Inland Revenue	Hon, W. P. Howland  "A. Morris.  "Sir Charles Tupper  "John O'Connor.  "T. M. Gibbs.	July 2, 1872 March 4, 1873
Minister of Interior	Hon. Sir A. Campbell	July 1, 1873
President of Council	Hon. A. J. F. Blair.  " Joseph Howe.  " Ed. Kenny.  " Sir Charles Tupper.  " John O'Connor.  " Hugh McDonald.	Jan. 30, 1869 Nov. 16, 1869 June 21, 1870 July 2, 1872
Receiver General	Hon. Ed. Kenny " J. C. Chapais " Theodore Robitaille	Nov. 16, 1869
Secretary of State	Hon. Sir Hector L. Langevin	